Paddy Power
PaddyPower Sports Betting
4000 + Ratings
New app out now!

James McClean makes Ireland Euros squad but James McCarthy forced to withdraw

by Paddy Power Admin | May 7, 2012

James McClean

Ireland manager Giovanni Trapattoni has included one-legged wonder James McClean in his 23-man squad for Euro 2012.

The Sunderland winger, from Derry, got a huge ovation when he came on as a substitute against the Czech Republic at the Aviva in Dublin in February.

However, Wigan midfielder James McCarthy has withdrawn from consideration after his father was diagnosed with cancer.

In a statement issued by the FAI, James McCarthy said: “I have made the very difficult decision to withdraw my name from selection from the Euro 2012 squad following the diagnosis of my father with cancer and an ongoing requirement for treatment.

“I have discussed this with the manager. He was very understanding and I thank him sincerely for that.

“I take this opportunity to re-affirm my complete commitment to playing for the Republic of Ireland.

“It is a huge honour and source of great pride for me and my family.

“Despite not being present, I would like to wish the manager and my team-mates every success at the tournament and hope that Irish fans can understand the reason for my decision at this difficult time.”

Everton’s Seamus Coleman is on the standby list alongside Paul Green (unattached), Andy Keogh (Millwall), Paul McShane (Crystal Palace) and Motherwell keeper Darren Randolph.

England manager Roy Hodgson is expected to name his England squad next Monday, May 14.

Republic of Ireland squad for Euro 2012: Shay Given (Aston Villa), Keiren Westwood (Sunderland), David Forde (Millwall); John O’Shea (Sunderland), Stephen Kelly (Fulham), Stephen Ward (Wolves), Richard Dunne (Aston Villa), Sean St Ledger (Leicester), Darren O’Dea (Leeds), Kevin Foley (Wolves); Glenn Whelan (Stoke), Keith Andrews (West Brom), Keith Fahey (Birmingham), Darron Gibson (Everton), Damien Duff (Fulham), Aiden McGeady (Spartak Moscow), Stephen Hunt (Wolves), James McClean (Sunderland); Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Kevin Doyle (Wolves), Shane Long, Simon Cox (both West Brom), Jon Walters (Stoke).

Your comments and views

HTML Snippets Powered By :