Paddy Power
×
PaddyPower Sports Betting
4000 + Ratings
New app out now!
Install

[update] Tiger Woods gets two-shot penalty but no DQ

by Paddy Power Admin | April 13, 2013

Tiger Woods dropshot

3pm Update. According to the BBC, Tiger Woods has a two-shot penalty and will not be disqualified. This is based on a recent rule update from the USPGA. One rule for Tiger…

We’ve seen some unbelievable shots already at Augusta National in the U.S. Masters… mainly of Dustin Johnson’s girlfriend, Paulina Gretzky.

But trust Tiger Woods to stir more controversy for golf’s stuffy rule-makers. He faces disqualification today from the 77th Masters after a potentially illegal dropshot on the 15th hole during his second round on Friday.

  • If Tiger gets the boot, Paddy Power will refund all outright bets on the world No1 in one of our famous Justice Payouts.

Tiger drenched his third shot on the par-five 15th. He chose not to play from the drop-zone and returned to where his original shot was played. He then moved two yards further back, before finishing with a bogey.

But USPGA rule 26-1 states that Woods should have played his second attempt as near as possible from the spot of the first – not two yards back. There’s a lengthy debate on the fallout here but the basics are that Tiger Woods signed an incorrect scorecard.

It’s hardly the first time Tiger has gotten his balls in a mess. Tsk. He admitted..

I went down to the drop area, that wasn’t going to be a good spot, because obviously it’s into the grain and it was a little bit wet. So it was muddy and not a good spot to drop. So I went back to where I played it from, but I went two yards farther back and I tried to take two yards off the shot of what I felt I hit.

VIDEO: Tiger Woods ends up in the water

VIDEO: Tiger Woods’s illegal dropshot at the U.S. Masters

Now, the Paddy Power Blog doesn’t even pretend to understand all the rules of golf. But we understand a lack of justice for our punters when we see it.

Masters_13thHole

We’ll keep you posted here and on @paddypower but it doesn’t look good for Tiger as the Augusta bullies have already come down hard on 14-year-old (!) Chinese sensation Guan Tianlang with a one-stroke penalty for slow play.

Tiger Woods has history with Paddy Power, of course. In 2009 his defeat at the US PGA Championship cost PP £1.3m after we paid out early on him winning that tournament. During the Ryder Cup in 2012, his ‘gentlemanly’ conduct when conceding the final putt that handed Europe victory stung us for £800,000. By beating Francesco Molinari in the final pairing of the weekend he could have at least ensured a 14-14 draw for America.

Related links

  • T&Cs apply (see below)

USPGA Rule 26-1. Relief for Ball in Water Hazard

It is a question of fact whether a ball that has not been found after having been struck toward a water hazard is in the hazard. In the absence of knowledge or virtual certainty that a ball struck toward a water hazard, but not found, is in the hazard, the player must proceed under Rule 27-1.

If a ball is found in a water hazard or if it is known or virtually certain that a ball that has not been found is in the water hazard (whether the ball lies in water or not), the player may under penalty of one stroke:

a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1 by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5); or

b. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped; or

c. As additional options available only if the ball last crossed the margin of a lateral water hazard, drop a ball outside the water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than (i) the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or (ii) a point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole.

When proceeding under this Rule, the player may lift and clean his ball or substitute a ball.

T&C’s IF Tiger is disqualified from the 2013 U.S. Masters

Refund applies to win and each-way single bets only on the Tiger Woods selection in following markets…

  • Winner
  • Place Only – 4 places
  • Place Only – 5 places
  • Top 10
  • Top 20
  • Top US Player
  • Top Former Winner
  • Hole In One By Tiger Woods
  • Leader after Round 3
  • Lowest Round Of Tournament
  • Tiger woods Finishing Position – pay 41st or worse incl missed cut. Void other two selections.
  • US Masters Insurebet
  • Which Major will Tiger win next – 2013 US Masters
  • 72 hole handicap betting
  • Tournament match bets (settle opponent as winner void Tiger):
  • McIlroy vs Tiger

Your comments and views

HTML Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com